Christmas Chocolate Truffle Balls

Okay, I swear, it isn’t as crude as it sounds!

You may have seen my last post on the Candy Cane Chocolate Truffle Meringues. So you may have noticed those tiny dollops of creamy chocolate piped into the center of them. I will admit, I ate a little of it just off the spoon it was so good; but very rich. Naturally when I finished piping the truffle mixture onto all of my Candy Cane Meringues and found I still had half of a large mixing bowl left full of chocolate, I knew I had to find something to do with it.

P1020721

Sure, I could keep eating it off the spoon…just stealing a bite out of the fridge every now and again like my grandmother was so known for doing. But what if I could do something prettier. Something easier to share, nicer to present.

I present, the Chocolate truffle Christmas balls. I scooped out individual portions and rolled them round. This is definitely your job if you have cold hands like I do! You want to work quick to make as little mess as possible. Once you have all your balls (that’s it, I’m calling them spheres from now on!) rolled, you can start rolling them in sprinkles. Lots and Lots of Sprinkles. This takes away the stickiness, makes them pretty and easy to store and helps them keep their shape.

P1020720

Luckily, we had these beautiful Christmas sprinkles, just perfect for the job! But I ran out of then just short of the finish line. I wasn’t expecting to be able to make so many of these, but I will say, they are great for grabbing when you need that after work sweet fix… just not every day!!

oops! Ran out of Christmas Sprinkles! Bring in the Chocolate back ups!

oops! Ran out of Christmas Sprinkles! Bring in the Chocolate back ups!

Leave a Reply

